Skip to Main Content

Board of Directors

Chad Melton, President, St. Michael Medical Center


Chad Melton joined St. Michael Medical Center in September 2021 and is responsible for daily facility operations as well as implementing key strategies and initiatives. With more than 17 years of executive healthcare leadership experience, Chad most recently worked with Fauquier Health System/LifePoint Health in Warrenton, Virginia where he served as Chief Executive Officer. 

He received a bachelor’s degree in health care administration from Southwest Texas State University, San Marcos, Texas, and a master’s degree in health care administration from Texas State University, San Marcos, Texas.

Mary Garguile, EdD, Immediate Past Chair

Mary Garguile

Mary Garguile, former Vice President for Instruction at Olympic College, became a Board member in 2006. The Bremerton resident was formerly President of ACCESS, a national organization for Associate Degree Early Childhood Educators. She has been recognized as a YWCA Woman of Achievement, and while at Olympic College earned the Jennie Mae Moyer Administrator Award and the Bremer Exceptional Faculty Award. In 2016, Mary earned her Doctorate of Education (EdD) in Educational Leadership from the University of Washington-Tacoma.

Beau Bakken, Chair

Beau Bakken

Beau Bakken joined the Board of Directors in 2014. Active in his community as fire chief for the North Mason Regional Fire Authority, he is also vice president of St. Michael Medical Center’s Foundation Board and is a current member and past president of the North Mason Rotary Club. Beau was a recipient of the Healthy Tomorrow Award in 2008, as well as a 40 Under 40 honoree, reflecting his accomplishments that make him the youngest fire chief in Washington. Beau graduated with his Master of Public Administration in 2012 from the University of Washington. He and his wife, Brittney, reside in Belfair.

Ronald Reimer, MD, Past Chair

Ronald Reimer

As a physician at St. Michael Medical Center for 33 years, Dr. Ron Reimer has provided a legacy of care to the patients, families and communities throughout Kitsap County. Dr. Reimer joined the Board of Directors in 2013, and was elected as Chair in 2017. He also served for twelve years on the KPS Board of Directors, having served as Chair for three; he previously served on the Board of Directors for Hospice of Kitsap County, as president of the Kitsap County Medical Society, and as Chairman of the Department of Medicine at Harrison Medical Center.

Born in Michigan, Dr. Reimer earned his BS from Michigan State University (magna cum laude), and his MD from Michigan State University College of Human Medicine.

Kelly Nelson, CPA, Past Chair

Kelly Nelson

Kelly R. Nelson, CPA, of Kingston, joined the Board of Directors in 2010, serving as Chair from 2015-2017. She has over 20 years of experience as a certified public accountant and was a managing member of Nelson Accounting Professionals, PLLC, of Poulsbo from 2002 to 2014. In 2014, Kelly joined the Seattle firm Bader Martin, PS, as Director of High Net Worth Services.

Kelly has served as vice chair/treasurer of the St. Michael Medical Center Foundation Board and has sponsored numerous nonprofit organizations. She is a member of the Washington Society of Certified Public Accountants, the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, and the Kitsap County Estate Planning Council.

Mike Hoffman, Virginia Mason Franciscan Health Board Representative

Mike Hoffman

Mike Hoffman, member of the Virginia Mason Franciscan Health Board of Directors, has 27 years of management experience in the pharmaceutical industry. He also continues to be a member of the American Heart Association, Gig Harbor YMCA, Leukemia Society, Tacoma Yacht Club, University of Washington Tyee Club and Young Life.

Denny Hunthausen, Virginia Mason Franciscan Health Board Representative

Denny Hunthausen

Dennis Hunthausen, agency director, vice president of Catholic Community Services of Western Washington, with over two decades in Human Services Administration. Denny was appointed to the Board of Directors in 2016, and has served on the Virginia Mason Franciscan Health Board of Directors since 2010. He is also a member of the Homeownership Center of Tacoma Board, as well as the Tacoma/Pierce Affordable Housing Consortium Board.

Anita McIntyre, MD, Vice Chair

Anita McIntyre

Anita McIntyre, MD, a private practice physician with Obstetrics & Gynecology Associates in Silverdale, joined the Board of Directors in 2013. She recently served as Chief of St. Michael’s OB-GYN department and is a past president of the Kitsap County Medical Society. Dr. McIntyre volunteers on medical team mission trips with Children of the Nations®.

Joe Roszak

Joe Roszak

Joe Roszak joined the Board of Directors in 2013, with nearly three decades of leadership experience as an executive director for nonprofit agencies encompassing three different states. He currently serves as CEO of Kitsap Mental Health Services, a complex community behavioral health agency comprised of a comprehensive continuum of services through a diversity of programs at multiple work sites throughout the Kitsap region.

Peter Schlicher

Peter Schlicher

Pete Schlicher joined the Board of Directors in 2014. As a retired VP of Operations at Harrison Medical Center, he’s been involved in our community's health care for quite some time. Pete received his master's in health care administration from the University of Washington and is a former member of the American College of Healthcare Executives. Pete has been involved in a number of community boards including East Bremerton Rotary, Hospice of Kitsap County, CAPRI, Kitsap Tennis and Athletic Center and the Kitsap County Emergency Medical Services and is currently member and Vice Chair of the Kitsap Credit Union's Board of Directors.

Rick Tift, Secretary/Treasurer

Rick Tift

Rick Tift, MBA, is the executive director for the Puget Sound Naval Shipyard and Intermediate Maintenance Facility. He has received numerous awards during his career, including two Navy Meritorious Civilian awards. In 2010, Tift was selected as the 2010 Naval Civilian Managers Association "Manager of the Year." A resident of Bremerton, Rick is a member of the Downtown Bremerton Rotary Club and the Bremerton and Olympic Peninsula Navy League. He also serves on the board of Leadership Kitsap.