Skip to Main Content

T. Evans Wyckoff Lecture in Neuroscience

The T. Evans Wyckoff Lecture in Neuroscience at Virginia Mason was established in 2000 by Ann Pigott Wyckoff in honor of her late husband, Theodore Evans Wyckoff. The lectureship is the Center for Neurosciences and Spine's premiere annual event, featuring internationally-renowned physicians and researchers in the field of neuroscience. Lectures are free and open to the medical community.

The Center for Neurosciences and Spine is looking forward to welcoming:

Merit Cudkowicz, MD

20th Annual T. Evans Wyckoff Lecturer

Save the Date

Friday, October 14, 2022, 7:30 a.m.
Volney Richmond Auditorium
Virginia Mason Medical Center

Dr. Merit Cudkowicz

Dr. Merit Cudkowicz

Dr. Merit Cudkowicz, a graduate of Harvard Medical School, is the Chief of Neurology at Massachusetts General Hospital. In addition, she serves as Director of the Sean M. Healey & AMG Center for ALS, Chair of the department of Neurology and the Julieanne Dorn Professor of Neurology at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Cudkowicz is one of the founders and past co-chair of the Northeast ALS Consortium (NEALS), an international group of more than 134 clinical sites dedicated to performing collaborative clinical trials and research in ALS. She also serves as Principal Investigator of the Clinical Coordination Center for the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke and is working to launch the first platform trial initiative in ALS.

In addition to her research and clinical activities, Dr. Cudkowicz is a dedicated educator and mentors many young neurologists in the clinical investigation of ALS. She has been awarded a number of prestigious awards for her work and continues to advance the field to the benefit of patients around the world.

Theodore Evans Wyckoff was a lumber entrepreneur and former director of the Washington State Department of Commerce and Economic Development. He had an unquenchable thirst for learning and adventure. When diagnosed with ALS, Mr. Wyckoff took it upon himself to research and learn about his diagnosis with the same enthusiasm as his other intellectual pursuits. He always asked hard questions, sought truth and wisdom, welcomed contradictory opinions, and took pride in healthy debate. Today, his family continues his values in education and new knowledge with this lectureship.

The T. Evans Wyckoff Lecture in Neuroscience Endowed Fund annually provides funding to bring to the Virginia Mason campus a prominent leader in neuroscience to present his or her work in the field to the medical community. Past presenters include:


Past presenters include:

2019 — Stanley Appel, MD, Houston Methodist Neurological Institute "Suppressing Neuroinflammation in Amyotropic Lateral Sclerosis: Cell-Based Therapy in the Age of Precision Medicine"

2018 — Christopher P. Ames, MD, University of California, San Francisco
"Frailty, Predictive Analytics and Cost in the New Era of Patient Specific Medicine"

2017 — Tahseen Mozaffar, MD, University of California, Irvine, School of Medicine
“Of Mice and Men: Lessons Learned from the Muscle Atrophy Inhibition Trials in Neurological Disorders”

2016 — Amit Bar-Or, MD, McGill University
"Evolving Insights and Therapies for Multiple Sclerosis"

2015 — John M. Ravits, MD, UC San Diego School of Medicine
“What Is C9orf72 Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis and Why Is It Rocking the Field of Neurodegeneration?”

2014 — Richard A. Deyo, MD, MPH, Oregon Health and Science University
“Overuse in the Treatment of Low Back Pain:  Time to Back Off?”

2013 — Stanley A. Herring, MD, University of Washington Medicine Health System
“Youth Sports Concussion Legislation: The Zackery Lystedt Story”

2012 — Teepu Siddique, MD, Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University
“ALS: A Ubiquilinopathy”

2011 — Kathleen M. Foley, MD, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
“Advancing Pain and Palliative Care Nationally: Challenges and Opportunities”

2010 — Stephen Salloway, MD, M.S., Brown University
“Clinical Best Practices in Dementia Care: Now and in the Future”

2009 — Andrew A. Eisen, MD, University of British Columbia
“Controversies in ALS – Some Personal Perspectives”

2008 — Louis R. Caplan, MD, Harvard Medical School
“Brain Embolism”

2007 — Bruce L. Miller, MD, University of California, San Francisco
“New Molecular and Clinical Links Between Frontotemporal Dementia and Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis”

2006 — Stephen L. Hauser, MD, University of California, San Francisco
“Genetics of Multiple Sclerosis”

2005 — Lewis P. Rowland, MD, The Neurological Institute of New York at Columbia University Medical Center
“What’s New in ALS Research? A Personal List of the Top Ten Advances”

2003 — Jerome B. Posner, MD, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
“Paraneoplastic Syndromes”

2002 — James M. Schumacher, MD, University of Miami Center for Movement Disorders
“Parkinson’s Disease and New Developments in Parkinson’s Disease Surgery”

2001 — Robert H. Brown, Jr., MD, D.Phil, Harvard Medical School
“Neurogenetics and Molecular Biology in Neurodegenerative Diseases”

2000 — Robert G. Miller, MD, California Pacific Medical Center
“New Hope in the Battle Against ALS”